Lars Müller Publishers, Baden, Switzerland, 2011, English
Nonfiction, Architecture
ISBN: 9783037782422

From the Publisher. The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage excellence in architecture and other forms of intervention in the built environment of societies with Muslim presence. The award is given every three years and recognizes all types of building projects that affect today’s built environment. Smaller projects are given equal consideration as large-scale buildings.

The book presents the shortlist of 19 projects, including the five award recipients. In their variety across culturally diverse areas of the globe, what these projects have in common is a commitment to design excellence despite constraints of budget, resources, climate, technology, or politics.
With essays by Omar Abdulaziz Hallaj, Salah M. Hassan, Gökhan Karakus, Yu Kongjian, Hanif Kara, Farshid Moussavi, Souleymane Bachir Diagne, and Alice Rawsthorn. Designed by Irma Boom.

On 1 book list
comments powered by Disqus